Goin' to the Movies

Informin' You About Movies

Breaking News: Sony Set To Reboot Spider-Man

Yesterday, I reported that John Malkovich was waiting on the script for “Spider-Man 4,” Sam Raimi’s latest in the Spider-Man franchise. That had effectively confirmed that Malkovich was not only involved in the upcoming super hero flick, but furthered the rumor that he would play the Vulture. However, today we learned that Sony was scrapping the fourth Spider-Man film, and instead rebooting the franchise—new director, new cast, new everything, except for the script writer.

It appears that while Sony was somehow unhappy with the direction/tone/something of the previous three films, they were happy with James Vanderbilt, who had been on the project since 2007. Vanderbilt is most well-known for his script on “Zodiac,” a wholly under-appreciated drama from 2007.

With the reboot, many have cried foul. After all, despite the flawed third film, the franchise was in great shape, with mountains of money flowing in and praise from critics and audiences all over the world (for the first two films, at least). While I love the writer, I feel Sony has made a mistake, but will remain optimistic about the future of the franchise.

The plan, at this point, is to return Peter Parker to his high school days and start anew. Who will be cast? Who will direct? How the hell will they replace J.K. Simmons as J. Jonah Jameson? Those will likely be the next hot rumors in Hollywood, and the film is slated for release in 2012.

January 11, 2010 - Posted by | Breakin' News | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I agree that Zodiac was wholly under appreciated. I think its greatest downfall was the length. I know it took time to build it properly, but it was much longer than I had expected. However this is a Spider Man update.

    I don’t see a reason to not bring back J.K. Simmons, that is if Sony knows what’s right. I don’t know how I feel about recasting any of the characters really, now that I’m thinking. Hmmm…

    Anyway, I think the reboot is necessary since after the 3rd film both my wife and I decided we were done with Spider Man movies. Nonetheless I hope the franchise can survive this without become all dark and twisty like Batman has.

    Comment by ChetG | January 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

